Feeling More Comfortable With Strangers Than Friends

I would like to know if anyone shares the same opinion as me on this topic. Sometimes feeling less awkward and more confident with strangers than people you know.

I model part time, and spend my weekends travelling to meet new photographers and spend the day doing a Photoshoot. Even though I consider myself quite socially awkward, when it comes to being in front of the camera, I am not shy or uncomfortable at all. 

But if a friend or a family member was to try and take a photo of me, I would immediately cover my face and feel really uncomfortable. 

I’ve never quite figured out why this is.

The only suggestion I came up with, is that when I meet new people such as photographers etc.. I know that it is not likely I will see them again, so I make the most of the time I have and try to get the best out of the shoot. I don’t worry about feeling judged because I know they are looking at the way I am presented and not my personality. 

But when someone I know goes to take a photo, I think ‘am I coming across too confident?’ And fear that they feel I am vain.

With people I don’t know, I don’t care what they think as much, because they don’t really know my personality and can’t sum me up in that one day.

I feel that the people close to you may hold grudges and every action you do will be remembered.

For example I once witnessed a friend who is usually quiet, flip out and get really angry, and now I do everything I can to make sure I don’t upset them, even though they are a lovely person. 

Sometimes once you have seen a different side to someone you know, you associate that with their normal behaviour and it will always stick in your mind.

With strangers, you don’t know them well enough to judge them, so can be yourself.

22 thoughts on “Feeling More Comfortable With Strangers Than Friends

  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    I think that is very true. Why would you care about what a stranger thinks of you, but sometimes, you are very concerned about what those close to you think. I’m still working on getting over that concern.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tim Taylor says:

    Basically, you are more concerned with the way you present yourself to those you know and love, regardless of the fact that they also know and love you, for who you are. As you said, it doesn’t matter as much with strangers because, most likely, you will never see them again. My suggestion? Be YOU all the time, those that accept that are the real friends, the ones to keep close. The others, well, not so much. Sometimes it’s even interestin’ to see who those people are 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. TechChucker says:

    I’ve found I have no problem meeting new people when I’m at work, but when I’m not and the social interaction is entirely for personal purposes, I become a complete social moron. I don’t know what to say, I don’t know how to act etc. I don’t have that problem so much with friends or family, though I don’t have a lot of friends because of my inability to be social for personal purposes.

    I’ve found I can socialize at work much easier because there is almost always a goal. Both parties have something they want/need and something we both know we have in common. I work in Technology which for my job is very much a service oriented job. So I know what people are going to expect from me.

    I think it might be easier for you at work for the same reason. You know what is expected of you, you’ve gotten the positive reinforcement of those professional interactions to know that you know what you’re doing, whereas with friends and family, there isn’t a definite purpose all the time to those interactions, which could certainly be confusing then.

    Though I could be completely wrong too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • laurensaysitall says:

      That’s a good point! When your out, speaking to people socially instead of doing because you have too can be a challenge. With me I find it easier not worrying about what strangers think because I never have to see them again, so don’t have to worry how I come across too much.

      Like

  4. mikeytbull says:

    Very true. The same goes for social media too. For example I know people who may appear to be quiet or slightly awkward socially, but come across as being very confident, articulate and very intellectual online. Like you say, there is no judgement so natural confidence of the real person comes through. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Adventuring-The says:

    I’m the same way girl!! (with people… not photos, any photo of me is awkward :P) But that’s why I loved backpacking so much. You’re always meeting new people so you’re never lonely, but you only know them for a short time. Everyones just looking to have fun and adventure not to judge. Thats part of the reason why I don’t want to go home because I’m affraid everyone I know just thinks of me how I was before I left almost over 2 years ago. Even though I’m not that person anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Andrew M Ferrell says:

    I think I am a much more open and outgoing person at my job with coworkers and customers than I am in large family gatherings. I chalk it up to my own family not being that close, but my wife’s family does lots of things together. I feel your awkwardness. I am learning to open up more around them and not be a passive observer at family events.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Date Pirate says:

    AHOY Lass!

    A little grog always made me comfortable with strangers and Strangers comfortable with me BA HA H AH AHAHAHA

    -The Date Pirate

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    I can easily imagine why being photographed while modeling would make you feel differently than by friends and family.
    Modeling seems to be a lot like acting. You emote or project certain emotions for the camera, because that’s what the photographer (who’s essentially your director) wants you to do do. You’re doing your job, what you were trained to do, and are getting paid to do . And just like an actor, no one expects the image you project for the camera to be the real you. It’s very impersonal and professional, because of course you’re going to be professional while you’re working. The relational and emotional expectations don’t exist as in real life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

