Are You Indecisive?

We all have our moments don’t we. I genuinely do not know anyone that is more indecisive than myself. It is awful. I’ll go the shop to get a drink, and find myself in front of shelves and shelves of different items, and not know which one to choose.

Even I fancy something in particular like a coke, I will see the selection of many other drinks and panic. I will scan my eyes over all the other choices, and umm and ahh for what feels like forever until I just have to make a choice. (Either my lunch break is running out, or I am in people’s way)
I honestly just can’t make up my mind. It gets worse when I feel pressured, like if I don’t have a lot of time. My eyes just dart around and I end up picking up the nearest thing and then walking out of the shop disappointed that I didn’t get something else.
When I talk to my friends about it they all say they are exactly the same so that’s a comfort at least.
I think we all do it from time to time.

If I think that’s bad enough, you can imagine what I am like with actual real decisions. This time last year I had two job offers. I have never felt more panicked and anxious in my life. I had to decide what I wanted within two days, whilst giving up my job at the time. I handed in my notice to get that out of the way, and then I sat down and wrote out all the pros and cons of each job I had been offered. It was hard but in the end I went with my gut and accepted the job I am currently in. I knew I had made the right decision straight away (thank god!) but for that short period of time I was trying to decide it was unbearable.

What I have learnt with decision making is to ask yourself:

1. ‘What’s the worst that can happen?’ That can help to put your mind at ease and make you feel more relaxed about the situation in hand.

2. Don’t think about everybody else and what they would say. This is your decision and go with your gut instinct or whatever you feel is the right answer. Thinking about others reactions will make the decision longer and more difficult, because your need to please others will be put before your own feelings.

3. Try not to think too much. The first thing that pops into your head, is normally what you will end up going with. If you think too much then loads of other things will pop into your head leaving you with too many choices and possible answers, and it will be impossible to choose.

Thinking too long about something is usually the reason that it doesn’t get done. It also shows a lack of confidence. That you are not strong enough to make your own decisions.

So don’t overthink too much! ☺️

15 thoughts on “Are You Indecisive?

  1. agadudes says:

    I can relate as well, but lately the people around me have been so indecisive that i needed to make a decision for us quickly as to avoid standing around for an hour wondering which item to order from a menu of a restaurant we picked after an hour of choosing between several alternatives. Haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynda says:

    It can be a sickness. For me the problem comes with coordinating items, especially colors and patterns for my quilting. It can bring me to a dead stop before I even get started. And like yourself, my husband was recently faced with the dilemma of being offered two jobs. In the end, it came down to personal satisfaction with the job to be performed rather than pay. Well, the excellent insurance coverage helped too! 😉

    Thanks for visiting me, Lauren. Your writing is informative and fun reading. ~L

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

