The ‘New Year New Me’ Rubbish

If I had a pound for every time I have heard someone say around New Year’s Eve: ‘this is a new year, so I am going to start a fresh and there will be a new me’ and promise to make all these changes in their life and become a better person, I would be a millionaire..
I’m all up for New Years resolutions..
If you make it and stick to it then good for you. You are being true to your word and are serious about making a change.
But most people, make hundreds of resolutions and not one of them is kept.
Promises to yourself to join a gym, or eat less chocolate, or even make plans with your friends more often.
Why make these promises if you are not going to stick to them?
I hate Facebook as it is, but I am fed up of seeing pointless statuses appear on my news feed, full of girls committing themselves to changes which we all know they will never achieve.
Why publicise it?

To be perfectly honest it is usually young girls that annoy me the most. By constantly updating their Facebook statuses with silly resolutions.
The truth is. No one cares.
Keep it to yourself and then you won’t look like you have let yourself down in front of others, when you have broken your promise.

Of course if you stick to your New Years resolution! Then well done you! ☺️

15 thoughts on “The ‘New Year New Me’ Rubbish

  1. Matthias says:

    I’ve always felt the same about New Year’s resolutions. Why at the New Year? People can decide to make a change any time of the year. A New Year doesn’t make a new life or a new start. I guess the tradition of making resolutions trumps actually keeping them. It just comes with being a part of the masses. Some act to portray themselves as being a part of the New Year’s tradition.

    I enjoyed your little rant. It was great and very true.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tieme says:

    Haha I agree. I don’t like new years resolutions.. Why wait till tomorrow if you need to change now?

    Two years ago I felt I needed to loose weight, started end December so it wouldn’t be a resolution 😉

    Have a great holidays and kind regards,
    Tieme

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heartafire says:

    I think making a resolution ( and the new year seems like a fresh start) is actually a statement of dedication to what one feels need changing. Sticking to that resolve is not easy and often fails, but what is the harm in giving it a shot as long as one does not persecute themselves if they fall short, there is always the possibility of giving it a go again.
    Resolution shows an interest and recognition of things that we might improve.

    Like

  4. Claudia {SparrowHawk} says:

    “To be perfectly honest it is usually young girls that annoy me the most. By constantly updating their Facebook statuses with silly resolutions. The truth is. No one cares. Keep it to yourself and then you won’t look like you have let yourself down in front of others, when you have broken your promise.”

    Love this! I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your candor because these words are simply failing at capturing the essence of my smirk, but truly, I appreciate it 😉 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

